3/21/15

This week I chose to analyze my learning style to see which type of learner I am. The results of my test concluded that I am a visual learner, who is stimulated my their senses during active and visual learning. These results mean that while learning I will retain the information best if I am looking at pictures, diagrams or charts over just listening to a lecture. This also means that I will retain information best after reading it than simply listening to it. The results also tell me that I need to be actively involved in class and need to have short bursts of engagement to keep me interested. For example the memory games a few weeks ago in class really helped me understand and remember what we were learning. I believe that these results are pretty accurate because I do like to be engaged and have noticed that I do tend to lose interest when we are simply being lectured and are not involved in class. As for the credibility of the assessment, the first one asked a lot of similar questions to help ensure my constancy in answering but was a bit redundant after a while. On the first test though I did like that it showed my results on a scale so I could see where I stood out of ten, however it lacked an explanation as to why I ranked the way I did. The second assessment was significantly shorter, which was nice, but only gave my result at the end with little explanation as to why. To best help myself study I should try to play games and draw out diagrams of the information to help myself best retain it. For my education so far at AC I would say that it overall doesn’t do the best job of teaching to my learning style because most of my classes have simply been lecture without any engagement in class other than note taking. I think that if we had games or activities to break up class every now and then I would learn much better.

One thought on “3/21/15

Leave a comment